Midsummer Mornings

mm

Since watching one of his talks, I have been waiting in enthusiastic anticipation for the publication of My Midsummer Morning by Alastair Humphreys.

It is due out on Thursday 30th May, but I pre-ordered and got an email Saturday from Waterstones telling me that my copy was ready for collection and I will be racing to collect  it tomorrow.

The book is about the trip that Al made following in the footsteps of Laurie Lee, as he set out on foot for Spain. The journey is recorded in his classic travel memoire, As I Walked Out One Midsummer Morning, which coincidentally (or perhaps not) is being aired weekdays on BBC Radio 4 Extra, starting today.

I’m feeling spoiled at being able to listen to the audio version of an old book I read some time ago and at last getting my hands on a new tale that pays homage to it.

One thought on “Midsummer Mornings

Leave a comment